Mrs. Robert Szold Elected President of Hadassah at Convention’s Close
Menu JTA Search

Mrs. Robert Szold Elected President of Hadassah at Convention’s Close

Download PDF for this date

With the election of Mrs. Robert Szold of New York as president, the adoption of a $600,000 budget for the coming year and the calling on Miss Henrietta Szold for steps leading to the formation of a Jewish Women’s Agency for Palestine, the fifteenth annual convention of Hadassah closed here last night.

Miss Szold, a member of the Palestine Zionist Executive, was re-elected honorary president and Mrs. Nathan Straus, honorary vice-president. Other officers chosen were Miss Pearl Franklin of Chicago, Mrs. A. H. Vixman of New York. Mrs. Frieda Silbert Ullian of New York and Mrs. Henry Harrus of San Francisco, vice-presidents. Mrs. David Greenberg and Mrs. Moses P. Epstein, both of New York, were reelected treasurer and secretary respectively.

The actual budget for medical work was set at $400,000, which is $30,000 less than was appropriated for it last year. The difference, it was explained, is being made up by the Palestine community.

As its specific project for the year 1929-1930 Hadassah has decided to continue to redeem land in the region of Haifa Bay, for which an appropriation of $50,000 has been made.

At the closing session a resolution was also adopted to provide that the Jewish National Council with the consent of the National Board, urged the Hadassah chapter to utilize “Mother’s Day” for the planting of trees and that all these trees be planted on one tract of land in “Hadassah Wood.”

The following were elected to the National board to serve three years: Mrs. Rebekah Kohut, New York; Mrs. A. H. Vixman, New York; Mrs. Emil Krockin, Baltimore; Mrs. I. S. Alderblum, New York; Mrs. Harry Berkman, Chicago; Miss Hortense Levy, New York; Mrs. Max Margolis, Philadelphia; Mrs. David De Sola Pool, New York; Mrs. Robert Szold, New York.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund