Menu JTA Search

New York and Brooklyn Federation Committees to Work out Merger Details

Dudley D. Sicher, president of the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies, and Nathan D. Shapiro, president of the Brooklyn Federation of Jewish Charities, in a joint statement yesterday, announced the appointment of two committees of five members each to cooperate in working out the details of the proposed merger of the two organizations, which is to be effected not later than January 1, 1931.

The committee representing the New York Federation includes: Justice. Joseph M. Proskauer of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court and president of the Ninety-second Street Young Men’s Hebrew Association, as chairman; Leo Arnstein, first vice-president of Mount Sinai Hospital; Dr. Harry G. Friedman, chairman of the Distribution Committee of the New York Federation; Sol M. Stroock, former president of the New York Federation, and Felix M. Warburg, chairman of the board and first president of the New York Federation.

The committee named to represent the Brooklyn Federation includes the following: Justice Edward Lazansky, presiding justice of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, as chairman; Nathan S. Jonas, founder and first president of the Brooklyn Federation; Justice Mitchell May, of the Supreme Court, former president of the Brooklyn Federation; Benjamin H. Namm, who presented the Brooklyn resolution proposing the merger and also formerly a president of the organization, and Walter N. Rothschild, first vice-president of the Brooklyn Federation.

The committees are to meet jointly and each group will submit recommendations to its parent organization not later than the first meeting of the board of trustees in the fall of 1930.