Minnesota U. Menorah Society Awarded 1929 Lehman Trophy
Menu JTA Search

Minnesota U. Menorah Society Awarded 1929 Lehman Trophy

Download PDF for this date

The University of Minnesota chapter of the Intercollegiate Menorah Society was awarded the Irving Lehman Trophy for its accomplishments during 1929, at the four-day national convention of Menorah Society held at the Jewish Club which ended Sunday night.

Theodore Gordon, of the Jewish Theological Seminary, was elected president of the Intercollegiate Menorah for the coming year. Herzl Friedlander, of Northwestern University, was chosen vice-president, as were L. A. Abramovich, University of Manitoba, Dorothy C. Adelson, Barnard College, and Lewis H. Weinstein, Harvard University.

Professor Morris R. Cohen, of the College of the City of New York, and President of the American Philosophical Association; Professor Arthur W. Marget of the University of Minnesota; Shmarya Levin, Henry Hurwitz, editor of the "Menorah Journal," David Pinski, Abraham W. Binder, Director of the Free Synagogue Choir, and Dr. Mordecai M. Kaplan were among those who spoke.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund