4 Students from United States Enrolled at Hebrew University
Menu JTA Search

4 Students from United States Enrolled at Hebrew University

Download PDF for this date

Four students from the United States are enrolled at the Hebrew University in Palestine this semester, according to an announcement received yesterday by Felix M. Warburg, chairman of the American Advisory Committee. Each of the four Jewish theological seminaries in this country is represented by a graduate. The Hebrew Union College of Cincinnati, the Jewish Institute of Religion and the Jewish Theological Seminary award a year’s fellowship at the Hebrew University to an outstanding graduate of their schools each year. Herman Saville holds the Bertha Guggenheimer Fellowship from the Jewish Institute of Religion, Isidore Meyer was awarded the Brush Scholarship from the Jewish Theological Seminary, and William Rothman of Detroit is the holder of a Fellowship from the Hebrew Union College.

American organizations which have given scholarships to the Hebrew University include the Sigma Alpha Mu Fraternity Scholarship in Classics, amounting to $300, the Boston Palestine Scholarship Association, which gives a scholarship of $200, and the B’nai B’rith of Canada, which makes an annual gift of $250 to a student working in the Einstein Institute of Mathematics.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund