Menu JTA Search

Nominate Lowenstein, Bressler to Keren Hayesod Board

Solomon Lowenstein and David Bressler, representing the American non-Zionists, have been nominated to the board of directors of the Keren Hayesod, the principal financial instrument of the Zionist Organization, which since it was founded some nine years ago has raised almost $20,000,000 for Jewish colonization in Palestine and for the health and educational budget of the Zionist work, the Jewish Telegraphic Agency learns.

The nomination of Dr. Lowenstein and Mr. Bressler is due to the formation of the extended Jewish Agency as a result of which a number of prominent non-Zionists have been added to the board of the Keren Hayesod. Dr. Lowenstein is executive director of the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropies in New York and Mr. Bressler is one of the chairmen of the $6,000,000 allied campaign for the Joint Distribution Committee and the Jewish Agency.

The non-Zionist members of the Board of Directors are Dr. Bernard Kahn and Dr. Visser. The Zionist members are Dr. Aron Barth, Dr. Berthold Feiwel, Dr. Georg Halpern, Dr. Arthur Hantke, Leib Jaffe, S. Kaplansky, and I. A. Naiditsch.