Quebec Government Names 7 As Jewish School Committee
Menu JTA Search

Quebec Government Names 7 As Jewish School Committee

Download PDF for this date

The provincial government of Quebec today announced the names of the seven members of the Jewish School Commission, created in a recent enabling bill for a separate Jewish school system on the Island of Montreal. The commission will have power to negotiate for an understanding with the Protestant school leaders or to establish separate Jewish schools if an understanding is impossible.

The seven members of the commission are Edgar M. Berliner, A. Z. Cohen, Nathan Gordon, Rabbi H. Abramovitch, Dr. Max Wiseman, Michael Garber and Samuel Livingstone, with the latter as chairman. Mr. Livingstone, a mining engineer, was born in St. Paul, Minn., and came to Canada in 1906. He was a pioneer in the silver fields of the Cobalt district. In 1924, the Quebec government delegated him to study the question of Jewish education.

Mr. Berliner and Mr. Cohen are prominent Montreal business men and communal leaders, the latter being a brother of Lyon Cohen, one of the leading Jews of Canada. Rabbi Abramovitch is the spiritual leader of the Shaare Hashomayim, the wealthiest congregation in Montreal. Mr. Gordon, a former reform rabbi, is now a member of the Montreal bar. Dr. Wiseman is the sponsor of the movement for a Jewish hospital and active in other communal activities, while Mr. Garber is a lawyer, active Zionist and a member of the separate Jewish school commission, an unofficial body which advocates separate Jewish schools.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund