Detroit Zionist District Votes to Accept Brandeis Memorandum
Menu JTA Search

Detroit Zionist District Votes to Accept Brandeis Memorandum

Download PDF for this date

Detroit Zionists are now definitely in the Brandeis fold. At a meeting of the Zionist District of Detroit held last night at the Philadelphia Byron Talmud Torah, the proposals of Supreme Court Justice Louis D. Brandeis and his group setting forth conditions for their return to leadership in the Zionist Organization of America, received an overwhelming majority vote.

Delegates to the convention, to be held in Cleveland, June 29 to July 2, elected at Wednesday’s meeting, were instructed to vote in favor of the Brandeis proposals and for the return of the Brandeis-Mack group to leadership.

Rabbi A. M. Hershman, Philip Slomovitz, Leon Kay, Aaron Pregerson, Simon Shetzer, D. W. Simons and M. H. Zackheim spoke in favor of accepting the Brandeis proposals. Speakers pointed out the need for strengthening confidence among Zionists by a change in leadership, and for a change in method for Zionist work. Joseph Haggai headed a small group which opposed the acceptance of the proposals of the Brandeis group, although they were in favor of the return of leadership of the Brandeisists. Mr. Haggai argued that the Brandeis statement is vague and opposed the proposal for an interim administration before leadership is assumed by the Brandeis group.

Simon Shetzer, president of the local district, will head the Detroit delegation to the convention, having received the largest number of votes. David W. Simons and Max D. Lipsitz were the other delegates elected, and alternates will be Robert Marwil, Mr. Zackheim, Mr. Kay and Rabbi Harry Z. Gordon.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund