3 Jews Named to Legislative Tax Survey Commission
Menu JTA Search

3 Jews Named to Legislative Tax Survey Commission

Download PDF for this date

Professor Edwin R. A. Seligman of Columbia University, New York City; Jesse Straus of New York City; and Charles L. Feldman, Corporation Counsel of Buffalo are among the eight members of the legislative commission which was named yesterday by Governor Roosevelt, Senator Knight and Speaker McGinnies to study the tax laws of New York State and recommend changes to the next Legislature.

Professor Seligman, who is 69, is one of the most noted economists in this country, being the author of many books on economic problems and having often served in the past on various municipal, state and federal commissions that dealt with problems of taxation, finance, unemployment, etc. Mr. Straus is a well-known New York merchant, president of R. H. Macy & Co.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund