B’nai B’rith Names 3 New Hillel Foundation Chiefs
Menu JTA Search

B’nai B’rith Names 3 New Hillel Foundation Chiefs

Download PDF for this date

The B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundation Commission, created by action of the Constitution Grand Lodge Convention of April, 1930, held its organization meeting here this week, and named Alfred M. Cohen chairman and Dr. I. M. Rubinow secretary of the Commission and ratified new directors for three of the Hillel Foundations.

Rabbi Bernard Heller, spiritual leader of Temple Anshe Chesed of Scranton, Pa., was named director of the Foundation at the University of Michigan to succeed Rabbi Adolph Fink who resigned last spring. Rabbi Heller will assume his new duties the latter part of this month. Rabbi Samuel H. Baron, formerly director of the Hillel Foundation at the University of West Virginia, was approved as director of the Foundation at the University of Texas. He succeeds Rabbi Jacob Weinstein who last year resigned to accept a pulpit in San Francisco. Rabbi Henry Kagan, formerly of Johnstown, Pa., will succeed Rabbi Baron as director at the University of West Virginia. He will also occupy tht pulpit of Temple Israel at Uniontown.

Directors of the five other Hillel Foundations who continue from last year are: Prof. A. L. Sachar, University of Wisconsin; Rabbi Lee J. Levinger, Ohio State University; Rabbi Max J. Merritt, University of California; and Rabbi Isidor B. Hoffman, Cornell University.

HAVE $130,000 BUDGET

B’nai B’rith, which established and maintains these Foundations, has budgeted some $130,000 for the Hillel Foundation movement this year. Over 7,000 Jewish students at the eight universities having Foundations will be given Jewish religious, cultural and social contact through the activities sponsored at these Foundations.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund