Six National Jewish Groups to Confer in N. Y. on Bias Against Jews in Employment
Menu JTA Search

Six National Jewish Groups to Confer in N. Y. on Bias Against Jews in Employment

Download PDF for this date

Upon the invitation of the B’nai Brith, representatives of six national Jewish organizations will confer in New York, November 30 to consider the entire question of employment discrimination against Jews. The organizations which have accepted the invitation are the American Jewish Committee, the American Jewish Congress, the Jewish Welfare Board, the National Council of Jewish Women and the United Hebrew Trades.

All of these organizations have already discussed the employment problem as it affects Jews and have evidenced interest and concern in finding a possible solution. It is agreed by each of them that before any effective action can be planned the facts in the case must be accurately ascertained. It is hoped that out of the forthcoming conference will come a united effort for a survey of the entire field of employment in relation to opportunities for Jewish workers.

The B’nai Brith will be represented at the conference by its international president, Alfred M. Cohen, its executive director, Dr. I. M. Rubinow, Sigmund Livingstone, chairman of its anti-defamation league and Judge A. K. Cohen of Boston. The American Jewish Committee will be represented by its secretary, Morris D. Waldman and by Dr. Lee K. Frankel, David A. Brown, Dr. Harry S. Linfield, and Dr. Jacob Billikopf. The American Jewish Congress will have as its delegates its president, Bernard Deutsch, its secretary, Bernard G. Richards, and George Z. Medalie, Nathan D. Perlman and Israel Thurman. The Jewish Welfare Board will be represented by Benjamin Buttenweiser, Joseph Rosenzweig, Henry J. Bernstein and Harry L. Glucksman.

The delegates of the National Council of Jewish Women will be: Mrs. Abraham H. Arons, Mrs. Maurice L. Golman, Mrs. Francis D. Pollak and Mrs. Estelle D. Sternberger.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund