Menu JTA Search

Shalom Ash Famous Yiddish Novelist and Prominent Jewish Industrialists Elected at Warsaw Conference

Mr. Shalom Ash, the famous Yiddish novelist, Dr. Samuel Goldflamm, Mr. Boris Eitingon, and Mr. Oscar Kohn, two of the biggest textile manufacturers in Lodz, Mr. Mauryci Maizel, Vice-President of the Warsaw City Council, Rabbi Solomon David Kahane, member of the Warsaw Rabbinate, and Mr. Annanias Einhorn, representative of the Ica, were elected today at a Conference of representatives of the Jewish Communities in Poland, of Jewish members of the Polish Municipalities and of active workers in the Keren Hayesod, as the seven representatives of Polish Jewry on the non-Zionist section of the Jewish Agency Council for its forthcoming second meeting in Basle. The Conference was addressed by Mr. Leon Levite, Dr. Goldflamm and Dr. Wernher Senator, member of the Jewish Executive.

The alternates include Mr. Hillel Zeitlin, the famous Jewish orthodox writer, Dr. Czerniakov, a leader of the Folkist Party, and ex-Ministerial Councillor Samuel Adalberg.

Mr. Shalom Ash, Dr. Goldflamm, Mr. Boris Eitingon, and Rabbi Kahane were among the representatives of Polish non-Zionist Jewry also at the first meeting of the Jewish Agency Council held in 1929.