Tired Congress May Turn to Dr. Weizmann at Last Moment; Executive Resigns
Menu JTA Search

Tired Congress May Turn to Dr. Weizmann at Last Moment; Executive Resigns

Download PDF for this date

As the Zionist Congress today entered its second important stage, that of defining the new policy and electing a new Zionist Executive, it became apparent that efforts to create a broad coalition of all parts have thus far yielded no results and consequently the feeling is that in view of the general tiredness of the Congress, Dr. Chaim Weizmann will be reelected at the last moment.

The Laborite delegates are still seeking to save Weizmann’s policies by giving up Weizmann and excluding the Revisionists but the success of their efforts is considered doubtful. The doubt as to the success of the all-inclusive coalition is due to the fact that both the Laborites and the Revisionists are not inclined to participate in such a grouping.

Utilizing the fact that no plenary sessions are scheduled today, the Congress’ committees were diligently at work preparing numerous resolutions, creating the basis for a program and studying the personnel of the new Executive. The heavy deficit of the Jewish Agency is also receiving serious consideration.

Today the Congress accepted without comment the resignation of the Executive elected at the 1929 Congress. The members of this Executive were Nahum Sokolow, London; Henrietta Szold, New York; Lazarus Barth, Berlin; Rabbi Meyer Berlin, New York; Prof. Selig Brodetsky, London; Solomon Kaplansky, London; Col. Frederick Kisch, Jerusalem; Louis Lipsky, New York; Felix Rosenblueth, London; Harry Sacher, London; Dr. Arthur Ruppin, Jerusalem, and Joseph Sprinzak, Jerusalem.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund