Menu JTA Search

New Zionist Executive Without Revisionists Elected at Closing Session of 17th Zionist Congress

After more than two weeks of wrangling, the steering committee of the Zionist Congress this afternoon submitted a slate which the plenary session of the Congress approved by a vote of 103 to 42 at the closing session of the 17th Zionist Congress. The Revisionists, who were excluded from the new Executive, voted against the slate while the Radicals the only other party not represented on the Executive abstained from voting at all. All other parties voted.

The new resident Executive, which will guide the Zionist Organization for the next two years, consists of two Laborites, two General Zionists and one representative of the Mizrachi. The members of the Executive are Dr. Chaim Arlosoroff, Palestine Laborite, Prof. Selig Brodetsky, British Zionist, Heschel Farbstein, Polish Mizrachist, Emanuel Neumann, American General Zionist and Berl Locker, American Laborite.

Professor Brodetsky is the only member of the old Executive to be given a place on the new one. He had been closely associated with Dr. Chaim Weizmann, the retiring president of the Zionist Organization.