Leading American Politicians Constitute Pro-palestine Commit Tee: Officially Organised and Officers
Menu JTA Search

Leading American Politicians Constitute Pro-palestine Commit Tee: Officially Organised and Officers

Download PDF for this date

The “American Palestine Committee for the furtherance of the restoration of Palestine as the Jewish National Homeland and the dissemination of accurate information as to the progress of the up building work in the Poly Land”, which was inaugurated in January on the initiative of Mr. Emanuel Neuman, the American member of the Zionist World Executive, was officially organised here last night at a reception given in honour of Mr. Nahum Sokolov, the President of the Zionist World Organisation and the Jewish Agency for Palestine, who was unable to be present at the January meeting, because he was speaking at the Palestine Campaign Conference in New York held the same day. (The gathering will be followed by another meeting to be held at an early date, it was announced at the time, for the purpose of perfecting the organisation and electing officers).

Mr. Curtis, Vice-President of the United States; Senator Borah, Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee of the United States Senate; and Senator Swanson, who sent a cable of acceptance from Geneva, where he is attending the Disarmament Conference as the United States representative, were elected Honorary Chairmen.

Senator William F. King, of Utah, has been elected President and Chaiman of the Executive Committee. Congressman Hamilton Fish, who moved the 1922 Pro-Palestine resolution adopted by the United States Congress, has been elected Vice-Chairman; Mr. William Hard, a prominent journalist, is Secretary, and Mr. William R. Hopkins Treasurer.

The Executive consists of Senator Copeland, Senator Lewis, Senator Wagner, and Dr. Elwood Mead, United States Commissioner of Reclamation, who was one of the experts of the Joint Palestine Survey Commission.

Senator Borah presented and Senator King seconded the declaration of objects of the Committee adopted by the meeting, stating that “the American Palestine Committee has been formed in keeping with the resolution adopted by the United States Congress in 1922, expressing the approval of the United States of the establishment in Palestine of a Jewish National Home”.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund