Chicago Zionists Hold Annual Conference
Menu JTA Search

Chicago Zionists Hold Annual Conference

Download PDF for this date

Morris Rothenberg, president of the Zionist Organization of America was guest of honor at a dinner Tuesday at the Congress hotel which marked the close of the annual all-day conference of the Zionist Organization of Chicago. More than 400 Chicago Zionists applauded the Zionist head. The business sessions which preceeded the banquet were attended by more than 500 members and delegates. Among those present was a delegation from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

Jacob M. Braude was re-elected president of the Zionist Organization of Chicago, as was Joel David Wolfsohn, secretary. Max M. Korshak was named vice president and John Rissman, treasurer. An executive committee of seventy-five members was elected and an administrative board of 13 was selected.

Mr. Rothenberg told his listeners that the Zionist was brought to the fore to cure the inferiority complex of Jews all over the world. Judge Harry M. Fisher was toastmaster. Judge Fisher, who is one of the members of the Democratic board of strategy and was active in Governor-elect Horner’s campaign, revealed for the first time publicly that it was the policy of the campaign to keep Jews in the background. He also hit at those “minority but wealthy Jewish forces” in Chicago who are using their influence in an attempt to drive out the teaching of Hebrew in institutions supported by

the Jewish charities of Chicago.

The committee on reorganization submitted a lenghthy report and its recommendations were adopted. Rabbi Solomon Goldman was chairman of the committee, other members of which were Rabbi A. E. Abramowitz, Rabbi Samuel M. Blumenfield, Dr. A. M. Dushkin, Dr. Leo L. Honor, Jacob M. Braude and Meyer W. Weisgal.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund