Menu JTA Search

Bulletin Brevities

Download PDF for this date

The Duluth Zionist chapter was reorganized and the following officers elected:

A. B. Horwitz, president; H. W. Davis, vice-president; Solomon Borkin, secretary; F. Labovitz, treasurer; and I. A. Arons, Dr. W. I. Cohen, Frank Kell, Sam Singer, Harry Vertelney, Rabbi Harvey E. Wessel and J. B. Weiner, members of the executive committee.

A community wide farewell reception was tendered to Rabbi and Mrs. Sol B. Friedman of the Poale Zedeck Congregation of Pittsburgh, prior to their leaving permanently for New York City, where Rabbi Friedman accepted a call from the Washington Heights Congregation.

Tributes were paid by Rabbis M. S. Sivitz, E. W. Kochin, S. H. Goldenson, M. A. Levin, H. Hailprin, G. A. Rose; M. Chaitkin, President of Congregation Poale Zedeck, Dr. L. B. Bernstein, Executive Director of the Jewish Federation of Philanthropy, Mrs. J. H. Cohen, President of the Pittsburgh Hadassah and Mrs. B. Davis, President of the Jewish Orphan Home. The Pittsburgh Cantors also participated in the program. Rabbi B. A. Lichter, chairman of the arrangement committee, presented Rabbi and Mrs. Friedman with a gift in behalf of the Jewish community of Pittsburgh in appreciation for 13 years service.

More than five hundred persons attended the testimonial dinner in Newark, N. J., in honor of Charles Handler, attorney and district deputy of the Independent Order Brith Abraham. Among the speakers were Isadore Apfel, Grandmaster, and Max L. Hollander, Grand Secretary. City Commissioner Ellenstein was toastmaster. The preceding week, Morris H. Klein, also of Newark, who heads the Order’s Committee on Jewish Rights, was similarly honored and Mr. Apfel was among the speakers.

A community celebration of the Spinoza Tercentenary is now being arranged in Newark for the night of December 11.

Dr. Karl Vornberg of “The Day” and Prof. Zavel Zilberts, composer, are honorary chairmen of the tercentenary committee, and Abraham Silverstein is chairman. Among the vice-chairmen are A. Sigmund Kanengieser, Grandmaster of the I.O.B.S., and Joseph Kruger, national president of Phi Sigma Delta fraternity. The featured speaker will be Dr. Ruth Gruber, of Brooklyn, who three months ago, at the age of twenty, received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Cologne in Germany—the youngest woman ever to achieve this distinction.

Temple Beth El of Sunburty, Pa., will celebrate its thirtieth anniversary Sunday morning, December 18, with a banquet and program. Among the speakers will be Rabbi Jacob X. Cohen, of the Free Synagogue, New York; Rabbi Louis M. Levitzky, of Temple Israel, Wilkes-Barre, Pa, and Rabbi Charles Mantinband, of Temple Ohab HaSholom, Williamsport, Pa. Rabbi Samuel Horowitz is spiritual leader of the Congregation.

Rabbi Joseph Zeitlin, formerly of Congregation B’nai Jeshurun, of Philadelphia, has accepted the call to be the spiritual leader of Temple Ansche Chesed, New York City.

Temple Ansche Chesed is the largest in the Conservative wing and the third oldest in the country, having started in 1828. It has had as its Rabbis such outstanding men as Dr. David Einhorn, and up to very recently Dr. Jacob kohn.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund