Menu JTA Search

Thurman Heads Congress Long Branch Division

Israel N. Thurman of Long Beach was elected President of the Long Island Division of the American Jewish Congress, organized at a conference attended by more than 800 delegates representing twenty-two communities in Long Island, who were assembled at the Jamaica Jewish Center.

Other officers elected include: Rabbi Joshua L. Goldberg of the Astoria Centre of Israel, Daniel Lipsky of Great Neck and Emil Lengyel, Astoria, Vice-Presidents; Henry Albert, Flushing Secretary. Dr. Aaron Brown of Floral Park, Chairman of the Executive Committee. The Rev. Max Meyer, rabbi of the Free Synagogue of Flushing, Vice-Chairman.