American Jewish Committee Discusses German Situation
Menu JTA Search

American Jewish Committee Discusses German Situation

Download PDF for this date

A meeting of representatives of national organizations affiliated with the American Jewish Committee together with a group of the members of the Executive Committee was held here last Sunday. Dr. Cyrus Adler, the President of the American Jewish Committee, who was in the chair, made a statement with regard to the steps taken in connection with the situation of the Jews in Germany, by the American Jewish Committee in conjunction with the B’nai B’rith. Dr. Adler’s statement was supplemented by brief remarks by Judge Irving Lehman, one of the Vice-Presidents of the Committee, and Judge Horace Stern, Chairman of the Executive Committee, and Messrs. Sol M. Stroock, Max J. Kohler, James N. Rosenberg, and Roger W. Straus, members of the Executive Committee of the American Jewish Committee. There was a discussion, in which a number of delegates participated, and at the close of which it was agreed that it would be advisable for the delegates to report back to their organizations the essential facts concerning the activities of the Executive Committee and their satisfaction therewith. Dr. Adler announced that a special meeting of the general Committee of the American Jewish Committee had been called to be held in New York City on Sunday, April 9.

The following delegates attended the conference: Martin O. Levy, representing B’rith Sholom; Rev. Dr. H. G. Enelow, the Central Conference of American Rabbis; Solon J. Liebeskind, the Free Sons of Israel; Mrs. David de Sola Pool, Hadassah; John L. Bernstein, Abraham Herman, Jacob Massel, and Albert Rosenblatt, the Hebrew Sheltering and Immigrant Aid Society; Joseph Rosenzweig, the Jewish Welfare Board; Dr. Harry L. Lurie and George W. Rabinoff, the National Conference of Jewish Social Service; Mrs. Blanche B. Goldman and Mrs. Mary G. Schonberg, the National Council of Jewish Women; Morris Aaronson, Meyer Greenberg, and Eugene Siedman, the Order of United Hebrew Brothers; Benjamin Koenigsberg and Wm. Weiss, the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations; A. D. Braham, Herman Speier, and Leo Wolfson, the United Roumanian Jews of America; Louis J. Moss, the United Synagogue of America; Mrs. Cyrus Adler, the Women’s League of the United Synagogue of America; and Mrs. Joseph M. Asher, the Women’s Branch of the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations. The following members of the Executive Committee of the American Jewish Committee were present: Dr. Cyrus Adler, David M. Bressler, Max J. Kohler, Judge Irving Lehman, James N. Rosenberg, Judge Horace Stern, Roger W. Straus, and Sol M. Stroock; Morris D. Waldman and Harry Schneiderman, Secretary and Assistant Secretary of the Committee, respectively, also attended.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund