Adler Group Names Policy Committee; Conference Today
Menu JTA Search

Adler Group Names Policy Committee; Conference Today

Download PDF for this date

A special committee of the American Jewish Committee has been appointed in connection with the situation of the Jews in Germany, it was learned yesterday, to fill the need for a small body to make prompt decisions and take speedy action. The new committee known as the committee on policy is headed by Joseph M. Proskauer, former justice of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, and has already held several meetings.

The other members of the committee are Judge Irving Lehman, Roger W. Straus, Lewis L. Straus and Sol M. Stroock. Dr. Cyrus Adler, president of the American Jewish Committee, and Judge Horace M. Stern, of Philadelphia, are ex-officio members.

The committee, as heretofore, it was learned, will work in full cooperation with the B’nai Brith and organizations affiliated or cooperating with them.

A conference of delegates of the thirty-eight organizations affiliated with the American Jewish Committee will take place this morning at 10:30 at the Federation Building, 71 West 47th Street, to consider the latest developments in the German situation.

“Several weeks ago, the American Jewish Committee convened a meeting of the representatives of the nineteen national Jewish organizations affiliated with the Committee, to whom a report was rendered of the steps which had been taken, or were being completed, in connection with the German situation,” Dr. Adler said in his call to the organizations to participate in this conference. “These steps and the principles underlying them met with the approval of these organizations.

“In view of the greatness of the emergency, however, the Committee is desirous of having the benefit of the advice and cooperation of other organizations, in addition to those already affiliated with this Committee, whose work lies within the scope of the present emergency.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund