Junior Hadassah Elects Celia Slohm President
Menu JTA Search

Junior Hadassah Elects Celia Slohm President

Download PDF for this date

The tenth convention of the Junior Hadassah, closed here today after adopting a number of resolutions on the German Jewish situation and electing officers for the coming year.

Among the resolutions adopted by the convention was one demanding the creation of a unified public opinion, through propaganda or otherwise, against the conditions now existing in Germany.

An increase in the budget from $50,000 to $62,000 was voted by the conference.

Celia Slohm of Buffalo was elected national president of the Junior Hadassah. The vice presidents are: Thelma Goldfarb of Brooklyn; Mary Frank of Chattanooga, Tenn.; Esther Brill of Chicago and Dorothy Finnerstein of Columbus, Ohio. Esther Levy of New York is the new treasurer and Hannah Schiff of Buffalo is secretary. Alice Bernstein of New York was re-elected executive secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund