Mattapan-dorchester Jewry Votes to Further Boycott
Menu JTA Search

Mattapan-dorchester Jewry Votes to Further Boycott

Download PDF for this date

The large preliminary conference of the Jewish communities of Mattapan and Dorchester, held Wednesday, under the auspices of the New England office of the American Jewish Congress, voted unanimously in favor of an uncompromising boycott of German goods and German ships.

Over 100 delegates representing 30 Jewish organizations and institutions were present, including delegates from synagogues, lodges, charitable institutions and the Jewish war veterans. The conference was held in the Mattapan Hebrew School.

A special boycott message from Bernard S. Deutsch, president of the American Jewish Congress, was read.

Plans were made to hold a great protest parade to take place within the next three or four weeks. The delegates promised the fullest cooperation against the “common enemy of civilization.” A committee of seven was appointed to make final preparations for a great mass meeting to carry through most effectively the boycott and to establish a permanent branch of the American Jewish Congress, in Mattapan, which has about 50,000 Jewish residents.

The principal speakers at the conference were Samuel Kalesky, Mrs. Jenny Loitman Barron, Isadore Fox, Benjamin George Leve, William Mannos, Rabbi Abraham Rose, Abraham Alpert, Joseph Reder and Rabbi Joseph S. Shubow.

Despite a heavy downpour of rain, the conference was a marked success.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund