23 Municipalities to Be Established in Palestine
Menu JTA Search

23 Municipalities to Be Established in Palestine

Download PDF for this date

Twenty-three municipalities will be constituted in Palestine under the proposed Municipal Corporations Ordinance which has just been published as a bill and will be enacted as legislation before the end of the month.

Cities and towns to be included are Acre, Beisan, Beit Jallah, Bethlehem, Gaza, Haifa, Hebron, Jaffa, Jenin, Jerusalem, Khan Yunis, Ludd, Mejdel, Nablus, Nazareth, Ramallah, Ramleh, Safad, Shafr’-am, Tel Aviv, Tiberias and Tulkeram.

Separate electoral and nominative regulations are to be levied for Tel Aviv. Suffrage for the Jewish city will be based on a broader democratic basis than for other towns, and the age limits of voters and councillors are lower.

Proportional representation of parties by the number of votes cast will continue to be the system of franchise in Tel Aviv, while in the other cities named individual candidates will be elected.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund