Adolf Hitler to Be ‘tried’ Here Tonight
Menu JTA Search

Adolf Hitler to Be ‘tried’ Here Tonight

Download PDF for this date

Adolf Hitler goes on trial before the High Court of Humanity tonight.

At least 22,000 persons are expected to voice their condemnation of Germany’s chancellor at a great mass demonstration in Madison Square Garden. Every shade of opinion will be represented by “witnesses,” most of them distinguished public figures. The purpose of the trial is to crystallize arguments against Nazism.

A vast multitude who cannot be accommodated in the Garden, will be able to listen in on the proceedings through the facilities of radio stations WEVD, WMCA and WABC.

The trial is under the auspices of the American Jewish Congress in co-operation with the American Federation of Labor and a number of liberal, anti-Nazi and Jewish groups. It coincides with the first anniversary of the Hitler regime.

Scheduled speakers will include Roger Baldwin, Dr. Llewllys F. Baker, Dr. Arthur J. Brown, Aldermanic President Bernard S. Deutsch, Arthur Garfield Hays, Stanley High, Dr. John Haynes Holmes, Gustavus Kirby, Mayor LaGuardia, former Governor Alfred E. Smith, Senator Millard E. Tydings, Rabbi Stephen S. Wise, Michael Williams, Professor Raymond Moley, Samuel Seabury, Dr. Samuel Margoshes, Miss Miriam Beard, William Green, Abraham Cahan and others.

According to present plans the meeting will be preceded by a parade of Jewish war veterans. A large detail of police under Deputy Inspector MacAuliffe will be assigned to keep order.

The trial has been termed as a “high court of humanity” over which Bainbridge Colby, former Secretary of State, will preside. Mr. Seabury will present the collective indictment of Hitlerism.


More than fifty organizations have lent their names as cosponsors of the undertaking and will be represented in groups at the presentation. Outstanding members of the American bar, leaders in the educational and art world, governors of many states, have joined the committee of honorary sponsors.

The committee of sponsors includes:

Eddie Cantor, Carrie Chapman Catt, noted woman leader; John Dewey, Professor of Columbia University; Professor Alvin Johnson, head of New School for Social Research; Bishop William T. Manning, the Cathedral of St. John the Divine; Dr. W. A. Neilson, president of Smith College; John Sloan, president Society of Independent Artists; Deems Taylor, noted American composer; George Gordon Battle, Edwin Bechtel, James Byrne, Victor J. Dowling, Hon. James W. Gerard, Morgan J. O’Brien, James A. O’Gorman, Amos J. Peaslee, Charles H. Strong, Jacob Gould Schurman, Jr., Otto C. Wierum.

The Governors who have joined in sponsoring the presentation include I. C. Blackwood, Governor of the State of South Carolina; Wilbur L. Cross, Governor of the State of Connecticut; Clyde L. Herring, Governor of the State of Iowa; Herbert H. Lehman, Governor of the State of New York; Hill McAlister, Governor of the State of Tennessee; Leslie A. Miller, Governor of the State of Wyoming; William H. Murray, Governor of the State of Okla homa; Gifford Pinchot, Governor of the State of Pennsylvania; Oscar K. Allen, Governor of the State of Louisiana; T. F. Green, Governor of the State of Rhode Island; Paul V. McNutt, Governor of the State of Indiana; Benjamin B. Moeur, Governor of the State of Arizona; Albert C. Ritchie, Governor of the State of Maryland.


The organization cosponsors include: Actors’ Equity Association, Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, American Civil Liberties Union, American Federation of Labor, Assembly of Hebrew Or thodox Rabbis of America and Canada, Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League to Champion Human Rights, Inc., League Against Fascism, The Protestant Teachers Association of N. Y. C., Inc., Society of Independent Artists, Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, Federation of Palestine Jews, Fellowship of Faith, Friends of German Democracy, German Workmen’s Club, German Workers’ Club, The Jewish Legion, National Committee to Aid Victims of German Fascism, National Committee of Nature Friends, The Teachers Union, Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations, Women’s Association of the American Jewish Congress, Pioneer Women’s Organization for Palestine, Workmen’s Circle, Young Judea, Young Poale Zion, Zionist Organization of America, American Palestine Jewish Legion, Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America, Federation of Palestine Jews, Mizroch Hatzair, Junior Hadassah, American Jewish Physicians’ Committee, Avuka, American Student Zionist Federation, Council of Young Israel and Young Israel Synagogue Organizations, Federation of Polish Jews in U.S., Hadassa, Women’s Zionist Organization, Jewish Socialist Labor Party Poale Zion of U. S. and Canada, Histadruth Ivrith, Jewish National Workers Alliance of America, Jewish War Veterans of the U. S., The Mizrachi Organization of America, Order Sons of Zion, Order of United Hebrew Brothers, United Roumanian Jews of America, Women’s Branel of the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America, Independent Order B’rith Abraham, Independent Order B’rith Sholom and Zionist Revisionists.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund