B’nai B’rith Third District Lodges Meet in Mckeesport
Menu JTA Search

B’nai B’rith Third District Lodges Meet in Mckeesport

Download PDF for this date

District Grand Lodge Number Three of B’nai B’rith will convene here Sunday and Monday for its eighty-second annual session. Matters relating to Jews in America and abroad will be discussed. Reports will be made as to the progress Nazism has made in America.

District Number Three consists of the states of Pennsylvania. New Jersey, West Virginia and Delaware. In territory it is probably the smallest district in the union. In Pennsylvania it has thirty lodges; in New Jersey it has eight lodges; in West Virginia it has eight lodges; and in Delaware it has only one lodge.

The district maintains a home at Erie, where children from the smaller communities of the four states are sheltered. It is the only institution of its kind, since most of the smaller communities make no provision for the care of orphans.

The convention will elect officers, pass resolutions on important matters and provide for activities which are of interest to the Jews here and elsewhere.

Officers of the district are as follows: president, Judge Leopold C. Glass, Philadelphia; first vice-president, Frank R. S. Kaplan, McKeesport; second vice-president Dr. H. J. Moss, West Orange, N. J.; third vice-president, Leon Tolochko, Pittsburgh; treasurer, S. B. Pollock, Secaucus, N. J.; and secretary Joseph Herbach, Philadelphia. Philadelphians active in the work are: Joseph W. Salus president of the council; Dr. Louis Gershenfeld, Abram Orlow, William Portner, Abraham Berkowitz and Judge Joseph L. Kun.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund