Congress Youth Praised by Sturz
Menu JTA Search

Congress Youth Praised by Sturz

Download PDF for this date

The work of the Youth Division of the American Jewish Congress came in for high praise when Louis Sturz, chairman of the advisory council told the board of governors of the organization that the congress youth movement, started as an experiment, was no longer one and that it had performed valuable services for Jewry.

The board, meeting in the theatre of the Chanin Building, for its final session of the season, heard reports from national committee chairman George Brussel Jr., Stanley Kempner, Maurice Whitebook, Max Leize and Albert A. Addelston. Charles A. Cowen, member of the advisory council, also spoke. Emanuel H. Sonnenreich, executive chairman, presided.

The following were elected to the national executive committee:

Brooklyn: Paul Seiderman and I. Stanley Kriegel; Manhattan: Emanuel Linhardt and George Brussel Jr.; Staten Island: Arnold Schwartz and Irving Ginsberg; Bronx: Dr. Philip Layden and Saul Fleishman; Queens: Benedict Ginsberg; Newark: Herman N. Weinberg; City Council: Clement Staff.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund