1935 Drive Quota Set at $3,250,000
Menu JTA Search

1935 Drive Quota Set at $3,250,000

Download PDF for this date

funds sent from abroad for the relief of the Jews in Germany.


Dr. Cyrus Adler, Governor Herbert H. Lehman, Judge Julian Mack, Judge Joseph M. Proskauer and Rabbi Stephen S. Wise will be the honorary chairmen of the 1935 drive. Nathan Straus is treasurer, Joseph C. Hyman is the honorary secretary, and Morris C. Propper, comptroller. The campaign directors are Isidor Coons and Robert Silverman.

The Executive Committee which will have charge of the national effort consists of Jonah B. Wise, Solomon Lowenstein, Alexander Kahn and Joseph C. Hyman for the Joint Distribution Committee, and of Morris Rothenberg, Louis Lipsky, Charles Ress, and Harry L. Glicksman for the American Palestine Campaign.

Invitations have been sent out to a group of distinguished leaders from coast to coast, to associate themselves with the United Jewish Appeal for 1935. Communities all over the country have also been asked to make immediate plans for combined campaigns.

The new campaign is a continuance of the fund-raising effort of the United Jewish Appeal last year, under whose auspices $2,169,892 were raised up to February 1 in 800 American communities for the work of the two organizations which it represents.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund