Seaboard Votes Zionist Policy Endorsement
Menu JTA Search

Seaboard Votes Zionist Policy Endorsement

Download PDF for this date

Resolutions calling on the Zionist Organization of America and the World Zionist Organization to continue efforts to unite all factions in the movement were adopted at the concluding session here yesterday of the thirteenth annual convention of the Seaboard Zionist Region.

The convention, attended by 400 delegates from thirty cities, endorsed the position taken by the administrative committee of the Zionist Organization of America in placing Zionism in Palestine above parties and class. It called upon all affiliated groups of the Seaboard region to throw their full support in electing delegates to the forthcoming World Zionist Congress as nominated on the general Zionist ticket.

Opposition to a legislative council for Palestine was reiterated by the convention, which demanded that Palestine promulgate laws to curb speculation, that Transjordan be opened to Jews and that more certificates be placed at the disposal of the Jewish Agency.

Rabbi Edward L. Israel of Baltimore was reelected president of the region and was nominated as a delegate to the World Zionist Congress. Other officers named to serve for the ensuing year are: vice-presidents, Daniel Ellison of Baltimore, Isidore Hershfield and Louis E. Spiegler of Washington, Dr. Louis L. Kaplan and Samuel J. Keiser of Baltimore; treasurer, Paul Gordon of Baltimore; executive secretary, Simon J. Levin of Baltimore.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund