Trade Union Delegation to Palestine Feted; Sails Saturday
Menu JTA Search

Trade Union Delegation to Palestine Feted; Sails Saturday

Download PDF for this date

Several hundred labor organization delegates and others attended a farewell banquet at the Manhattan Opera House tonight for a delegation of seven Jewish trade union leaders who will said on the Normandie Saturday for Palestine under the auspices of the National Labor Committee for the Jewish Workers in Palestine.

Joseph Schlossberg, head of the committee, explaining the trip, said:

“The chief reason is the present crisis in Palestine. We owe it to the Jews in Palestine, who carry such a large share of the burden, morally, financially and physically, of providing homes for victims of race persecution, to come to them at this very difficult time with a message of cheer and solidarity from the great masses of organized Jewish workers in the greatest of the free and democratic countries.”

The delegation will confer with leaders of the Histadruth, Palestine Jewish federation of labor, and will also visit France and England to seek from labor leaders continued support for Palestine’s Jewish labor movement. In Poland, too, they will confer with labor leaders.

Mr. Schlossberg is head of the National Labor Committee, which appointed the delegation at its last convention. The other members are Max Zaritsky, Isadore Naglor, Reubon Guskin, Samuel Perlmuttor, Joseph Broslaw and Jack Blume.

Among the listed speakers at tonight’s banquet were B. Charney Vladeck, general manager of the Jewish Daily Forward; Alexander Kahn, of the Joint Distribution Committee; Morris Feinstone of the United Hebrew Trades, and Joseph Baratz and Dr. Shalom Zemach, both of the Histadruth.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund