No Entry Law Changes Envisioned by Memorandums to Evian Parley; Palestine Stressed
Menu JTA Search

No Entry Law Changes Envisioned by Memorandums to Evian Parley; Palestine Stressed

Download PDF for this date

Memorandums of Jewish organizations prepared for the refugee-aid conference opening at Evian-Les-Bains next Wednesday all take for granted that immigration laws will not be changed, but most of them stress the need for opening of Palestine to greater immigration, and also urge the directing of emigration to undeveloped lands large enough to become immigration centers.

The American delegation to the conference is refusing to receive delegations of European private organizations or their memorandums, but is considering whether one of the closed sessions of the meeting should be devoted to hearing representatives of selected organizations. Should the decision be in the positive, Dr. Chaim Weizmann, president of the World Zionist Organization and the Jewish Agency for Palestine, and Lord Samuel, chairman of the council for German Jewry, will appear as the spokesmen of the most important Jewish organizations in Europe.

James G. McDonald, chairman of President Roosevelt’s Advisory Committee on Political Refugees, arrives in Paris tomorrow and will confer with Myron C. Taylor, American delegate, regarding the Evian conference, and also regarding private organizations. Most of these organizations are non-Jewish. All are sending observers to Evian, hoping that they may be heard there.

Jewish organizations sending observers are the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, the Jewish Colonization Association, the Council for German Jewry, the HIAS-ICA Emigration Association, the World ORT Union, the International OSE Union, the World Jewish Congress, the New Zionist Organization, the Agudath Israel and the EMCOL.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund