Menu JTA Search

J.D.C. Reelects Officers for 1939; Adds 43 Members to Board of Directors

The American Jewish joint distribution committee announced at the close of its annual meeting last night the reelection of its principal officers for 1939, addition of 43 members to the board of directors and 430 members to the national council.

The reelected officers include: Mrs. Felix M. Warburg, honorary chairman; Paul Baerwald chairman; Governor Herbert H. Lehman, James N. Rosenberg, George Backer, James H. Becker, David M. Bressler, Alexander Kahn, William Rosenwald, Edward M.M. Warburg, Dr. Jonah B. Wise, vice chairmen; Marco F. Hellman and I. Edwin Goldwasser, treasurers; William A. Koshland, associate treasurer; Miss Evelyn M. Morrissey, assistant treasurer; Mrs. H.B.L. Goldstein, comptroller, and Joseph C. Hyman, secretary and executive director.

Mr. Rosenberg and Leon Falk Jr. were unanimously reelected chairman and vice-chairman, respectively, of the National council, Sam Lewisohn, Harold K. Guinzburg, Henry Ittleson and Arthur Jaretzki Jr. , of New York, and Albert D. Lasker, of Chicago, were elected to the executive committee.