Mrs. Goldman Reelected Head of National Council of Jewish Women
Menu JTA Search

Mrs. Goldman Reelected Head of National Council of Jewish Women

Download PDF for this date

Mrs. Maurice L. Goldman, San Francisco, was reelected president of the National Council of Jewish Women last night at the Council’s triennial convention at the Hotel Astor.

Others elected are Mrs. Joseph M. Welt, Detroit, Mrs. Oscar S. Marx, Mount Carmel, I11., and Mrs. Benjamin Spitzer, Brooklyn, vice presidents; Mrs. Jacob Loeb Langsdorf, Philadelphia, treasurer; Mrs. Edgar Menderson, Cincinnati, recording secretary; Miss Aimee Stone, Philadelphia, financial secretary, and Mrs. Alexander Wolf, Washington, honorary vice president.

Resolutions adopted today supported the President’s policy to keep the United States out of war; favored admission of refugee children from the war zone to the United States over and above the quota for permanent residence; endorsed legislation for waiving of educational requirements for naturalization of legally admitted aliens 50 years of age and over, who entered the United States prior to May 5, 1917, when the literacy Act was passed; agreed to continue to render service on a non-sectarian basis in the interpretation of the Alien Registration Act to those it affects, opposed legislation which tends to discriminate against the legally admitted alien.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund