Leaders of New Magnes Party Promise to Accept Zionist Discipline
Menu JTA Search

Leaders of New Magnes Party Promise to Accept Zionist Discipline

Download PDF for this date

Members of the presidium of the Zionist Actions Committee, which is substituting for the World Zionist Congress as the supreme body of the Zionist movement, today conferred with Dr. J. L. Magnes, Henrietta Szold, and other leaders of the Ichud (Unity) Party for the purpose of adjusting the principles of this newly-formed party to Zionist aims.

The program of the Ichud Party, which is based on Arab-Jewish rapprochement and advocates the proclamation of Palestine as a bi-national state within a pan-Arab federation, will be the subject of discussion at a session of the Zionist Actions Committee which opened here today. The Nizrachi executive here is advancing the demand of the orthodox Zionists that Dr. Magnes resign from his post at the Hebrew University “because he is working against Zionist interests as well as against the ultimate Zionist aim of establishing Palestine as a Jewish State.”

The Jewish Agency for Palestine today issued a statement declaring that the Zionist Actions Committee will reserve judgment regarding the Ichud Party until the group publishes additional details of its aims and purposes. It is understood that leaders of the Ichud Party have informed the members of the Actions Committee that the material hitherto published does not give a complete picture of the political program of the new party.

It was learned here today that spokesmen of the Ichud Party gave the following promises to leaders of the Jewish Agency: 1. Not to conduct any political negotiations with external organizations; 2. To accept Zionist discipline under which the executive of the Jewish Agency is exclusively authorized to conduct political negotiations; 3. To publicly explain its attitude towards Jewish emigration into Palestine.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund