Judge Rothenberg Elected President of the Jewish National Fund in America
Menu JTA Search

Judge Rothenberg Elected President of the Jewish National Fund in America

Download PDF for this date

Judge Morris Rothenberg, noted Zionist leader, was unanimously elected president of the Jewish National Fund at the annual meeting today of representatives of Zionist groups affiliated with the J.N.F.

The election was under the chairmanship of Dr. Israel Goldstein who, because of his recent election as president of the Zionist Organization of America, retired from the office. Judge Rothenberg, who has served four times as president of the ZOA, and under whose leadership American participation in the upbuilding of Palestine gained wide moral and financial support, accepted the post in response to a united request on the part of all organizations which are represented on the administration of the Fund.

The J.N.F. administration for 1944, as constituted at the meeting today, will be comprised of a board of directors of 56 members and an administrative committee of 16. Dr. Goldstein was chosen honorary president. Dr. Abba Hillel Silver, Dr. Stephen S. Wise, Robert Szold, Judge Louis E. Levinthal, Louis Lipsky, Dr. James G. Heller, Rabbi Wolf Gold, Mrs. Moses P. Epstein and David Pinaki were named honorary chairmen. Louis Segal was elected honorary secretary and Rabbi I. M. Howelsky and Mr. Jacob Sincoff treasurers. Mendel N. Fisher was re-elected executive director of the Fund.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund