Hadassah Convention Concludes After Adopting $2,250,000 Budget for Coming Year
Menu JTA Search

Hadassah Convention Concludes After Adopting $2,250,000 Budget for Coming Year

Download PDF for this date

The 30th annual convention of Hadassah closed here today after the delegates had adopted final proposals bringing the total projected expenditures of the organization for the coming year to $2,250,000.

Of this total $900,000 will comprise the medical budget, adopted yesterday, and $400,000 will cover the allotment for the Jewish National Fund, $250,000 of which has been earmarked for purchase of a “Weizmann Tract” in Palestine in honor of the 70th birthday of the Zionist leader. The delegates also adopted a quota of $10,000,000 for the Sixth War Loan Drive.

Mrs. Moses P. Epstein of New York was re-elected president. Also re-elected were the following vice-presidents; Mrs. Samuel W. Halperin and Mrs. Herman Shulman of New York; Mrs. Raphael Tourover, Washington; and Mrs. Jack Goodman of Indianapolis. New vice-presidents are Mrs. J. J. Schwartz, Los Angeles and Mrs. David Greenberg, New Rochelle. Mrs. Samuel J. Rosensohn was re-elected treasurer; and Mrs. Robert Szold, Pelham, N. Y. secretary.

Dr. James G. Heller, chairman of the United Palestine Appeal, addressed the final session of the convention, which was marked by a standing tribute to Dr. Weizmann by all the delegates in appreciation of his contribution to the Zionist cause.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund