Menu JTA Search

Twenty-five Leaders of United Jewish Appeal Received by Truman at White House

President Truman today received a group of 25 leaders of the United Jewish Appeal, headed by former Secretary of the Treasury Henry Morgenthau, Jr. general chairman of the UJA, and Herbert H. Lehman, honorary chairman.

The president heard with interest the statement of the group, the White House announced, and expressed high commendation of their work for the relief of human suffering. Among those in the group were William Rosenwald and Mrs. David M. Levy Rabbis Israel Goldstein and Jonah Wise Edwin Rosenberg, Semuel Rothberg and Rodolf Sonneborn.