Menu JTA Search

National Citizens Council on Civil Rights Formed by Group of Religious, Civic Leaders

The formation of a National Citizens Council on Civil Rights to promote the establishment of a permanent governmental commission on civil rights, was announced here yesterday by 48 religious, educational, business and civic leaders.

In a statement released by its temporary chairman, Dean Ernest O. Melby, the Council said that “full civil rights can best be won in each man’s backyard” and that the “American heritage of civil rights must be kept before the American people as a non-partisan, non-political issue.” Among those comprising the Council are former Governor Herbert. Lehman, Herbert Bayard Swope, Gerard Swope, Judge Joseph M. Proskauer, New York State Attorney General Nathaniel L. Goldstein, Morris L. Ernst, Rabbi William F. Rosenblum, Justice Meir Steinbrink, Albert Lasker and Leo Cherne.