Menu JTA Search

Five New Colonies Established in Israel; Cornerstone Laid for House in British Kibbutz

Five new settlements in scattered sectors of Israel were established during the week-end, it was announced here today. The new colonies — including two founded by newly-arrived Turkish and Czechoslovak Jews — are located near Athlit, in the Hebron mountains, in the Negev and in the Mountains of Ephraim.

The cornerstone of the first house of the collective settlement, “Herev Leat,” located in Emek Hefer, was laid today. The kibbutz was established in 1947 by a group of war veterans from Britain. The British Zionist Federation has already contributed $40,000 to the settlement and an additional $20,000 is expected to be turned over to the settlers this year.