Menu JTA Search

Jacob Blaustein Awarded the Gottheil Medal “for Outstanding Service to Jewry in 1950″

Jacob Blaustein, president of the American Jewish Committee for the past two years, has been awarded the Gottheil Medal of the Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity “for outstanding service to Jewry in 1950,” it was announced yesterday, by Harold E. Grotta, national president of the fraternity.

The medal was established by Zeta Beta Tau in 1925 to honor the founder and first president of the fraternity, Dr. Richard J.H. Gottheil, head of the Department of Semitics and Oriental Studies of Columbia University. Last year’s recipient of the medal was Bernard Baruch. Other recipients in previous years included President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Judge Julian Mack, Judge Joseph M. Proskauer, Sen. Herbert H. Lehman, Felix M. Warburg and Julius Rosenwald.