Baruch Zuckerman, Prof. Ravidowitz Win Shaban Foundation Awards
Menu JTA Search

Baruch Zuckerman, Prof. Ravidowitz Win Shaban Foundation Awards

Download PDF for this date

Baruch Zuckerman, member of the Jewish Agency executive, and Prof. Shimon Ravidowitz were named the winners today of two prizes for the best essay in 1951 on the relationship between Israel and Jewry outside of the Jewish state. The prizes are among a series of awards given annually by the Shaban Foundation for the best works in Jewish children’s literature, best paintings by Jewish artists and best essays on Israel-Disapora relationship.

Mr. Zuckerman received the first prize of $250, for his series of articles in the ” Yiddisher Kempfer ” on ” The Galut and Israel in our Present Time.” Prof Ravidowitz received the second prize of $125 for his article in the ” Zukunft ” entitled ” Medinat Israel-or Back to Eretz Israel.” The judges who made the award were Dr. Leo Wulman, Dr. Joseph Kisman and Leibusn Lerer. The Shaban Foundation was established under the auspices of the Yiddish Culture Congress by Abel and Sara Shaban of Johannesburg, South Africa.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund