Menu JTA Search

Truman Named to Receive 1952 Stephen Wise Award

Former President Harry S. Truman has been named to receive the 1952 Staphen Wise Award for outstanding leadership in the extension of civil rights in the United States, it was announced today by Dr. Israel Goldstein, president of the American Jewish Congress, which makes the annual awards.

Josef Sprinnak, Speaker of the Israel Knesset, and Dr. Hayim Greenberg, member of the Jewish Agency executive, who died last Saturday, are the other two winners of the 1952 awards, each of which carries a cash value of $1,000. The award Dr. Greenberg will be made posthumously.