American and Canadian Scientists Win Weizmann Fellowships
Menu JTA Search

American and Canadian Scientists Win Weizmann Fellowships

Download PDF for this date

Four scientists living overseas have been awarded the first group of Chaim Weizmann Memorial Fellowships, it was announced here today. The awards have been established jointly by the Israel government and the Jewish Agency executive in memory of Dr. Weizmann.

The recipients, who will come to work at Weizmann Institute of Science at Rehovoth, are Dr. E. M. Grunwald, physical chemist of Florida State University; Dr. Gerald Gasman, organic chemist of Canada; Dr. T.R.R. McDonald, X-ray crystallographer, of the Cavendish Laboratory in Cambridge, England; and K.H. Shah, organic chemist, of Bombay University, India.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund