U. J. A. Forms National Cabinet; Will Start Its 1955 Drive in February
Menu JTA Search

U. J. A. Forms National Cabinet; Will Start Its 1955 Drive in February

Download PDF for this date

Formation by the United Jewish Appeal of a National Campaign Cabinet made up of 53 business, professional, religious and philanthropic leaders who will help plan and direct the UJA 1955 campaign for $99,521,275, was announced today by Samuel H. Daroff of Philadelphia, chairman of the Cabinet for the third year in succession. The forthcoming nationwide drive will be launched Sunday, February 27, at a National Inaugural Conference in Miami Beach, Fla.

Mr. Daroff stated that “the organization of this 53-man campaign high command now gives the United Jewish Appeal the largest and strongest cabinet since this leadership body was brought into existence in 1949.” The noted Philadelphia Jewish leader, who is honorary president of the Allied Jewish Appeal of that city, pointed out that “members of the new cabinet are in all cases leaders of UJA-affiliated campaigns in their home cities.”

“They represent virtually every important campaign area in the country,” he noted, “and are men who have helped to raise millions of dollars in their own communities for the financing of overseas, national and local causes. The United Jewish Appeal is fortunate in having them at its top level to help share in the planning, direction and leadership of its 1955 campaign.”

Mr. Daroff pointed out that the early completion of the 1955 Cabinet, in addition to the action of the UJA’s annual conference earlier this month in electing a full body of national officers, has cleared the way “for an earlier effort than usual to raise the sums the United Jewish Appeal so urgently requires.”

Mr. Daroff and the 53 members of his Cabinet will assist UJA general chairman William Rosenwald of New York, and the other national offices, who are: Edward M. M. Warburg, president; Rabbi Jonah B. Wise of New York and Dewey D. Stone, Brockton, Mass., national chairmen; Morris W. Berinstein, Syracuse, N. Y.; Joseph Holtzman, Detroit, Mich., Sol Luckman, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Jack D. Weiler, national campaign chairmen; I. Edwin Goldwasser and Jacob Sincoff, both of New York, national co-treasurers; Mrs. Hal Horne, New York, chairman of the National Women’s Division, and Dr. Joseph J. Schwartz, executive vice-chairman.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund