Sen. Lehman Receives Weizmann Institute Award; Honored in New York
Menu JTA Search

Sen. Lehman Receives Weizmann Institute Award; Honored in New York

Download PDF for this date

Sen. Herbert H. Lehman will devote himself to efforts in behalf of civil rights and other issues when he retires from the United States Senate at the end of this year, he revealed here yesterday. Sen. Lehman spoke at a luncheon given in his honor by the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science.

Sen. Lehman was given the Weizmann Award of Merit in recognition of his long term interest in the Institute. Other recipients were Dorothy Schiff, publisher of the New York Post, Joseph M. Mazer, Morris Ginsberg, Max Doft, William Rubin, Herman P. Taubman and Dr. G. M. Rogoff.

Abraham Feinberg, president of the American Committee for the Institute, announced that the Institute’s annual dinner, marking the 82nd anniversary of the birth of the late Dr. Chaim Weizmann would be held Nov. 27 and is expected to bring the Institute $500,000. Meyer W. Weisgal, chairman of the Institute’s executive council, outlined the activities and scope of the Institute.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund