Seven Jews Among 163 New Members Elected to So. African Parliament
Menu JTA Search

Seven Jews Among 163 New Members Elected to So. African Parliament

Download PDF for this date

Seven Jews were among the 163 new members of the South African Parliament in an election which greatly strengthened the nationalist party of Premier Strijdom. One Jewish MP lost his seat and four other Jewish candidates were defeated.

Hyman Miller, Helen Suzman and Abraham Le Kowarsky were returned unopposed for the United party in three Johannesburg seats. Dr. E. L. Fisher and Dr. Boris Wilson were elected by large majorities for the United party in two other Johannesburg contests. MP Leo Lovell, Labor party member, lost his seat by a heavy vote to the United party in Benoni.

The other winning Jewish candidates were Abe Bloomberg and Charles Barnett, both of Capetown, who won election in a special balloting two weeks before the general election. The special election was for four seats to represent the interests of the Cape coloreds the mixed population.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund