Zvi Kessel Prizes in Jewish Literature Announced in Mexico
Menu JTA Search

Zvi Kessel Prizes in Jewish Literature Announced in Mexico

Download PDF for this date

The Central Jewish Committee here today announced the 1959 winners of the Zvi Kessel prizes in Jewish Literature. The recipients of the awards are:

A.S. Stein of Tel Aviv for his work in Hebrew on the pseudo- messianic movement of Yaacov Frank–“And The Fire Left Ashes”; Dr. Solomon Simon of New York, for his work in Yiddish “In The Days of the First Prophets”; and Rabbi I. M. Fishleder of Mexico and Hirsch Abramowitz of New York, who shared one prize, the former for his Hebrew book “The Fortress of Israel” and the latter for his Yiddish work “Personalities That Are No More.”

The Zvi Kessel prizes for $350 each were established in 1947 by the Mexican philanthropist Harry Zvi Kessel, and are administered by the Central Jewish Committee.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund