Five Scholars Win ‘rabbi Kook’ Prizes for Religious Literature
Menu JTA Search

Five Scholars Win ‘rabbi Kook’ Prizes for Religious Literature

Download PDF for this date

Five “Rabbi Kook” prizes for religious literature, awarded in memory of the late Chief Rabbi Abraham Kook, who died just 25 years ago, were presented by the Tel Aviv Municipality last night at ceremonies at ZOA House here.

The prize winners arc Rabbi Abraham Neumark, Rabbi Zvi Shapiro, Prof. Shrhuel Mirsky of Yeshiva University, New York, Yehuda Gist and Jerusalem’s Chief Ashkenazic Rabbi Pessah Frank. Deputy Mayor Abraham Boyar presided at the ceremonies.

On behalf of all the prize recipients, Prof, Mirsky addressed the gathering, emphasizing the link between Jewry abroad and Jews in Israel as demonstrated in the learning and works of the lab Rabbi Kook.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund