Menu JTA Search

16 Jews, Including Toronto Mayor, Elected to Ontario Municipal Offices

Fifteen Jews have been elected or re-elected to municipal offices in the recent balloting in this province of Ontario, in addition to Mayor Nathan Phillips, of this city, who was re-elected to another term as Mayor of Toronto, according to tabulations made here today by the Canadian Jewish Congress.

At Cornwall, Ontario, Bernard Miller was re-elected as Councillor. In Toronto, Philip Givens was elected to the Board of Control; David Rotenberg as Alderman; and J.S. Midanik to the Board of Education.

At Forest Hill Village, L. T. Simonsky was elected Sheriff, and Edwin Pivnick, deputy Sheriff. In the same village, four Jews were elected to the Board of Education. They are: Norman Borins, Mrs. Ben Grossberg, Samuel Hertzer and Peter Draimin.

North York elected Irving Paisley to the Council and Saul Cowan to the Board of Education. York Township elected Philip White and Charles Good fellow to the Council; and Jack Young to the Board of Education.