Brandeis University Awards Honorary Degree to Adlai Stevenson
Menu JTA Search

Brandeis University Awards Honorary Degree to Adlai Stevenson

Download PDF for this date

Adlai E. Stevenson, chairman of the United States delegation to the United Nations, and Governor General Luis Munoz-Marin, of Puerto Rico, were among prominent guests who were given honorary degrees here today by Brandeis University. The university held a special convocation celebrating the formation of a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, honorary scholastic fraternity. Fifty members of the Brandeis faculty wear the coveted Phi Beta Kappa key.

Others who received honorary degrees at the convocation today were Professor Gunnar K. Myrdal, of Sweden, a noted economist and author; Lady Jackson, the former Barbara Ward, a prominent British economist and writer; Leo Szilard, nuclear scientist; Maurice Evans, noted Shakespearean actor; Laurence M. Gould, president of Carleton College; Nils Y. Wessell, president of Tufts University; and Nelson Glueck, president of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund