Menu JTA Search

Synagogue Council of America Names Three Leaders for ‘statesman Awards’

Three outstanding leaders of the American Jewish community, representing the three major wings of organized Jewish religion in this country–Orthodox, Reform and Conservative–will receive the 1961 Synagogue Statesman Awards at a dinner December 3, it was announced here today. The recipients will be Ludwig Jesselson, of New York, Orthodox; Samuel H. Daroff, of Philadelphia, Conservative; and Brigadier General David Sarnoff, Reform.

The awards were announced jointly by Rabbi Julius Mark, president of the Synagogue Council of America; former Senator Herbert H. Lehman, chairman of the Synagogue Statesman Awards Committee; and Benjamin Lazrus, chairman of the National Advisory Council.

The SCA is the national coordinating agency of the Reform, Conservative and Orthodox congregational and rabbinic associations in this country.