Kennedy Eulogized at Synagogue Council Dinner by Senator Ribicoff
Menu JTA Search

Kennedy Eulogized at Synagogue Council Dinner by Senator Ribicoff

Download PDF for this date

The late President Kennedy was eulogized here tonight at the annual Synagogue Statesman Awards dinner of the Synagogue Council of America, the national representative body of the three branches of religious Jewry in the United States–Orthodox, Conservative and Reform. The eulogy was delivered by U.S. Senator Abraham Ribicoff.

The awards were given to Irving Maidman, Henry R, Rem and Walter W. Weissman, all of New York. An announcement was made that the Council’s annual Peace Award, which was to have been presented to President Kennedy next February, has been renamed the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Peace Award. Senator Ribicoff will present that award to Mrs. Jacqueline Kennedy.

In Washington, Rabbi Stanley Rabinowitz, of Adas Israel Congregation, delivered the sermon today at an interdenominational service for the late President Kennedy at a Methodist Church here which was attended by President Johnson.

He was one of two rabbis among the six clergymen participating in the service. The other was Rabbi Norman Gerstenfeld of the Washington Hebrew Congregation. Also represented were the National City Christian Church, the Universalist Methodist Church and the Calvary Baptist Church.

Synagogues throughout the country yesterday devoted special prayers for the welfare of President Lyndon B. Johnson in response to a call by the Rabbinical Council of America to designate yesterday as a special Sabbath of prayer for the new Administration and for “soul searching” by Americans everywhere who “share the guilt” for President Kennedy’s assassination.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund